From the ruins of Fotopub emerged a renewed, re-contextualised and artist-run Fotopub. The motive behind our team is to focus the festival into contemporary photography, to promote Slovene and foreign photographers of the younger generation and to build bridges between professionals and the amateur public. Fotopub is developing a necessary platform, intended for connecting young artists and professionals with their already established colleagues, thus evoking a constructive dialogue amongst them.

From the 1st till the 6th of August 2016, eight exhibitions will be held by international emerging artists, a photography book fair, music and entertainment program and a portfolio review, which will bring well known and respected artists, curators, editors, publishers and gallerists from the international art world to Novo mesto.

The new Fotopub festival intends to bring to Novo mesto, a town in Slovenia, which has been culturally and artistically neglected, awareness about the importance of the revival of rural towns in the broader national or global context, by bringing examples of established trends within global contemporary art scene and with this subsequently contribute to versatility, quality and the development of the Slovenian artistic culture. In our efforts to expand the festival in the future, we are starting off in Novo mesto with an infrastructure built by the previous festival of 13 years, but further, we see Fotopub's potential of becoming an international key player in the development of the emerging contemporary photography.

2015 website
2014 website



press info

Fotopub Association for Contemporary Culture / Društvo za sodobno kulturo Fotopub
Dilančeva ulica 1
8000 Novo mesto

Managing Director  
Dušan Josip Smodej
+386 40 215 189 (si)
+420 773 168 155 (cz)

Communications Manager  
Tadej Vindiš
+386 31 883 184 (si)
+44 7843 877 171 (uk)

Curatorial Coordinator
Ilaria Speri

Fotopub team:
Aljaž Celarc
Bojan Mijatović
Dare Sintič
Eva Pavlič Seifert
Gregor Kocijančič
Jure Kastelic
Klemen Ilovar
Miha Erjavec
Reinis Lismanis
Anja Zver
Živa Kleindienst

code: Anže Vavpetič
design: Nejc Prah